30Lessons In 30Days – Day 16.

Fatherhood.

There are two movies that come to mind when I think of the term, Fatherhood – Taken and Blood Diamond.

Taken is the movie that easily spells to you the length that a Father can or rather should go for their children. The popular lines from the trailer that drew me to the movie is,

I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.

Though that sounds very scary if you were the bad guy, what makes it more interesting is that it wasn’t just a threat, it was a promise that he sis carry out. But then, I don’t want to dwell on Taken today. I want to zoom in on Blood Diamond.

Blood Diamond is a movie that tells the real life struggle that came with the discovery of diamonds in Sierria Leone. The movie showed the blood thirst, blood shed, greed, slavery, savagery, internal wars, ‘child-soldiers’ and love that came with this period. 

I had watched this movie once before, but I came across it again and this time, I saw something I really didn’t appreciate before now – A father willing to do anything to have his son back, even if it means dying to do so or at least giving away the hope of a better future, a diamond he found while working the mines.

He is my son. I am his father. I must go find him. Go ahead, shoot me if you want, but I will go find him.

When I came across that line, several thoughts ran through my mind. Will I become a father that can go this length for his children? Will I ever love my Children this much? Then the Holy Spirit reminded me, “You have the Father to teach you how to be a father”, and that brought ease to me.

God is a true Father, He would go any length to ensure that all is well with you. God is a lot more faithful to his children than Solomon Vandy of blood diamond or Liam of Taken. If these ones can go the length to get their child, how much more God, the Father.


I am inviting to begin to learn to lean on God, as your Father. It will be an excitingly insightful time. God  loves us.

LESSON 16.

The love of the Father to you is deep! Allow Him be a Father to you.


I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. Jeremiah 29:11

Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give people in exchange for you, nations in exchange for your life. Isaiah 43:4

Thank you Jesus for being a A Father to me!

Aremotobi


2 thoughts on “30Lessons In 30Days – Day 16.

Leave a comment